Eliminating gluten from your diet can be a challenge. The pesky proteins are everywhere, including many whiskies made from grain mash. You don’t have to sacrifice your favorite drink for your new diet.
There are plenty of gluten free whiskey brands on the market! You’re not limited to bourbon corn-based whiskey, either.
There are quite a few options, all with their perks and merits! Even if you don’t have to eliminate gluten, these spirits are worth sampling.
Hudson Baby Bourbon
Hudson Baby Bourbon is distilled in small batches and aged in smaller than traditional barrels. Smaller barrels add more color to the whiskey over less time while adding warm flavor notes to the liquor. Sweet corn with a complex hint of spice makes up the flavor notes of this 100% corn whiskey.
Unfortunately, Hudson Baby Bourbon may be difficult to find. The manufacturer was purchased by a larger group that hasn’t resumed production of the spirit yet, but you can still find it for sale.
Queen Jennie Whiskey
The name of this whiskey was inspired by Jennie Justo, “Queen of Bootleggers.” Like Jennie, Old Sugar Distillery is based in Wisconsin, using sorghum grown in the state to create Queen Jennie Whiskey. The result is a unique profile without the sourness of bourbon and a softer mouthfeel than rye whiskies.
S.S. Sorghum Whiskey
Another example of sorghum whiskey, S.S. Sorghum Whiskey, utilizes locally produced ingredients. Manufactured by Still 630 in Missouri, the brand ages its whiskey for over seven years in oak barrels. The result is a complex spirit with notes of stone fruit and sweet molasses. The rich-tasting liquor tastes excellent over ice as well as mixed-in cocktails.
Jack Daniel’s Whiskey
Jack Daniel’s Whiskey formulates its grain mash with 80% corn, 12% barley, and 8% rye creating a rich sweetness with peppery notes. For those avoiding gluten for dietary purposes, this whiskey is a fine choice. The gluten proteins dissolve during the distilling process. However, those with gluten allergies should try some of the other single-grain options on this list.
Crown Royal Canadian Whiskey
Like Jack Daniel’s, Crown Royal Canadian Whiskey uses a mix of corn and barley in its grain mash and is considered a gluten free whiskey. However, people with allergies may want to skip any whiskey processed with glutenous grains to be safe. The spirit ages in charred oak barrels, creating a robustly flavored whiskey with fruity notes and Crown Royal’s signature smooth finish.
Maker’s Mark Bourbon
A well-known brand with a highly recognizable red wax seal, Maker’s Mark Bourbon brings its own take on traditional bourbon. Their grain mash contains winter weather in addition to corn. This addition gives this whiskey a soft and creamy mouthfeel and enhances the fruity flavors of the spirit. The vanilla notes make it a favorite for use in cocktails.
Johnnie Walker Whiskey
Johnnie Walker Whiskey stands out among these other selections as the only Scotch whiskey on the list. Single malt and grain whiskies from Scotland blend together to create this globally famous brand. Combining toffee and fruit flavors with a touch of spice makes this whiskey a complex and delicious choice for drinking neat.
Knob Creek Whiskey
Knob Creek Whiskey comes in several varieties, but all use a corn-based mash with other grains mixed. Most of their products are bourbon whiskies with vanilla notes and slight caramel afternotes. People prize Knob Creek Whiskey for its distinct warm color, a mix of coppery and amber tones. The flavor and color of this spirit make it a distinctive addition to mixed drinks.
Wild Turkey Bourbon
Non-GMO grains grown for the brand give Wild Turkey Bourbon its unique character. Corn, rye, and malted barley are blended in the grain mash and melded together in the years-long aging process. The resulting whiskey is aromatic with woodsy notes from the oak barrels and has Wild Turkey's signature orange and vanilla notes.
These gluten free whiskeys are worth a shot, whether you’re avoiding certain grains or just looking for a great-tasting spirit. Try these liquors on the rocks or mixed into your favorite cocktail.
Do you know about gluten free whiskey options we didn’t include? Leave a comment below, and we’ll check it out!
The information found on this website is not intended to be a replacement or substitute for professional medical treatment or for professional medical advice relative to a specific medical condition. We urge you to always seek the advice of your physician. There is no replacement for personal medical treatment and advice from your personal physician.
GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings